Hedrick Medical Center Medical Staff Announces 2022 Harkness Scholarship Recipients

August 10, 2022

CHILLICOTHE, Mo. – The Hedrick Medical Center Medical Staff is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the Harkness Scholarship. The scholarship program, which was established in 2020, is named after Dr. James A. Harkness, a former Chillicothe physician and Chief of Staff at Hedrick Medical Center, who died in 1988.

The Harkness Scholarship's purpose is to support and encourage individuals in the surrounding rural communities who have chosen the path to become a physician.

Scholarships are awarded annually, up to $1,000 per recipient. Recipients are chosen from the group of applicants by an anonymous vote from the physicians serving on the Medical Staff’s education committee.

2022 recipients are:

  • Claire Wright (Chapman), Chillicothe
  • Madyson Williams, Laredo

The recipients will be eligible to apply for and receive this award each year throughout their education/training.

Hedrick Medical Center is a member of Saint Luke's Health System, which consists of 16 area hospitals and several specialty and primary care practices, and provides a range of inpatient, outpatient, and home care services. Founded as a faith-based, not-for-profit organization, our mission includes a commitment to the highest levels of excellence in health care and the advancement of medical research and education. The health system is an aligned organization in which the physicians and hospitals assume responsibility for enhancing the physical, mental, and spiritual health of people in the metropolitan Kansas City area and the surrounding region.