BJC Health System Receives National Recognition for LGBTQ+ Equality and Inclusion

ST. LOUIS – Eleven hospitals across BJC Health System have been recognized by The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI). HEI is the nation’s foremost benchmarking survey of healthcare facilities on policies and practices dedicated to the equitable treatment and inclusion of LGBTQ+ patients, visitors, and employees.

Two East Region (St. Louis area) hospitals received the High Performer designation:

  • Barnes-Jewish Hospital 
  • St. Louis Children’s Hospital

Nine West Region (Kansas City area) hospitals received the Healthcare Equality Leader designation:

  • Saint Luke’s Hospital of Kansas City
  • Saint Luke’s East Hospital
  • Saint Luke’s North Hospital—Barry Road
  • Saint Luke’s North Hospital—SmithvilleSaint Luke’s South Hospital
  • Allen County Regional Hospital
  • Anderson County Hospital
  • Hedrick Medical Center
  • Wright Memorial Hospital

Organizations designated as “Leaders” by HRC received the maximum score of 100 in the report. BJC’s East and West Region hospitals have been continuously listed with HEI for efforts to receive safe, equitable, and culturally aware care. All BJC facilities are committed to providing exceptional care that is inclusive and equitable to all patients, visitors, and employees, including the LGBTQ+ communities.  

“BJC Health System is committed to supporting the LGBTQ+ community throughout all our services and employment practices,” said Rich Liekweg, BJC Health System CEO. “These designations recognize us as an organization where everyone can be their authentic selves, whether they’re receiving care or providing it.”

The Healthcare Equality Index assesses participants on four criteria: 

  • Ensure foundational non-discrimination protection for patients, visitors and staff in patient and staff policies and provide cultural competency training on LGBTQ+ inclusion
  • Demonstrate progress toward inclusion on LGBTQ+ patient care services and support
  • Cultivate an inclusive workplace by providing LGBTQ+-inclusive employee policies and benefits
  • Demonstrate engagement with and public commitment to the LGBTQ+ community 

About BJC Health System
BJC Health System is one of the largest nonprofit health care organizations in the United States and the largest in the state of Missouri, serving urban, suburban and rural communities in Missouri, southern Illinois and eastern Kansas.   One of the largest employers in Missouri, BJC operates in two distinct regions as Saint Luke’s Health System in the west and BJC HealthCare in the east. BJC is comprised of 24 hospitals and hundreds of clinics and service organizations, all committed to providing extraordinary patient care and advancing medical breakthroughs. BJC’s nationally recognized academic hospitals, Barnes-Jewish and St. Louis Children’s hospitals, are affiliated with Washington University School of Medicine.  


Related Content

Jun. 1, 2022

Saint Luke’s Health System Campuses Earn Top Score in Human Rights Campaign Foundation’s 2022 Healthcare Equality Index

Saint Luke’s Health System campuses among nearly 500 healthcare providers nationwide earning the coveted “LGBTQ+ Healthcare Equality Leader” designation.
Sep. 10, 2020

Saint Luke’s Health System Earns “LGBTQ Health Care Equality Leader” Designation in Human Rights Campaign Foundation’s Healthcare Equality Index

Saint Luke’s Health System joins 495 health care providers nationwide earning the “LGBTQ Health Care Equality Leader” designation
Mar. 30, 2017

Saint Luke’s Health System earns “Leader in LGBTQ Healthcare Equality” designation in HRC Foundation’s Healthcare Equality Index at all system campuses

Saint Luke’s Health System announces its “Leader in LGBTQ Healthcare Equality” designation from the Human Rights Campaign Foundation.